GSoC Week 1: Kickoff With An Amazing Orientation Session

Manojlakshan
3 min readMay 9, 2024

--

Hello folks!!

Throughout the Google Summer of Code program, I’ll be documenting my journey with weekly blog posts. These blogs serve not only to log my progress but also to share insights into the GSoC program.

My Google Summer of Code journey has begun with an amazing orientation session led by the OpenMRS community.

OpenMRS GSoC orientation session

The orientation session stared with all participants introducing themselves. Contributors, mentors, and OpenMRS organization admins were all present. We shared our names, regions, currently what we are doing, fun facts, hobbies, and a brief overview of our selected projects.

The session offered strong guidance for the upcoming months, providing us with essential tips and strategies for success in our projects. It was not only informative but also enjoyable, affording us the opportunity to connect with new individuals and broaden our network.

GSoC 24 Orientation session participants

In addition to the orientation session, I had the chance to chat with both of my mentors. We set up a Slack group for communication, ensuring we stay connected throughout the GSoC programme. Additionally, I created a talk thread where project updates and general communications could be shared among the OpenMRS community.

Tips to success in GSOC

  1. Communicate Effectively: communication with your mentors and the community. Ask questions, seek feedback, and update them on your progress.
  2. Be Proactive: demonstrate your problem-solving skills
  3. Stay Committed: GSoC requires dedication and hard work. Stay committed to your project.
Contributor summit 2024

As a GSOCER, I had the opportunity to attend the GSoC Contributor Summit on May 7th. It was an amazing session filled with valuable tips for success in open source. The discussions covered several key topics, including the development of AI projects in open source, open source security (OSS), open source licenses, and project management.

“Communicate and Communicate is the key factor to success in opensource” ~ Stephani taylor

In my previous blog post, I talk about Google Summer of Code, detailing my journey to being selected for GSoC’24 and crafting my proposal. I share tips and stories that can help others who want to get involved in open-source projects. Check it out here:

Thank you for the reading, Join me on this tech adventure! Follow my profile to stay updated on the cool world of technology and innovation. Your support means a lot, and I can’t wait to share more exciting stuff with you. Let’s stay connected for more insights and fun discoveries ahead!

Github: https://github.com/ManojLL

LinkedIn : https://www.linkedin.com/in/manoj-lakshan/

--

--